Hazardous Chemicals Assessments – New Globally Harmonised System (GHS) of Labelling

A two-year transition to the 7th revised edition of the GHS (GHS 7) has now ceased and as of 1 January 2023 all chemicals can only have the new GHS 7 labels and SDS for all chemicals stored on site.

The transition period enabled manufacturers and importers to use either GHS 3 or GHS 7 to prepare classifications, labels and SDS for hazardous chemicals, however now only GHS 7 can be used.

Key Changes

GHS 7 introduces several changes to classification, labelling and safety data sheet (SDS) requirements for workplace hazardous chemicals. The key changes between GHS 3 and GHS 7 are:

  • New hazard categories and classes for:
    • Desensitised explosives;
    • Pyrophoric gases;
    • Chemically unstable gases;
    • Non-flammable aerosols; and
  • Updated precautionary statements.

In addition to these changes, the definition of ‘hazardous chemical’ has been clarified to ensure it captures all Category 2 eye irritants. Chemicals can be further sub-categorised as Category 2A and 2B, but this is not mandatory. For more detailed information, visit Transition to GHS 7 – SafeWork Australia.

Further NSW Knowhow

Please refer to the NSW Government SafeWork notifications website for more knowledge and learnings.

Should you have any questions or just wish to find out more about Hazardous Chemicals Assessments do not hesitate to contact [email protected]